Message from the Office of the Tax Collector:
Please be advised that Annual Post –Tax Year Income Statements were mailed January 12, 2018. Also accompanying this form for 2018 is a Supplemental Income Form (State of New Jersey requirement). These documents must be completed and returned to the Tax Collector’s Office on or before March 1, 2018, Failure to return these documents will result in the loss of the deduction and you will be billed for the deducted amount.
Should you have any question please feel free to contact my office at (856) 794-4050.
Thank you for your cooperation.
First Quater 2018 Property Taxes are due: Februrary 12, 2018
Office of the Tax Collector has submitted the Notice for the 2018 Tax Sale
Mailing of Tax Bills: Tax bills are mailed once a year. Usually mid to late July.
Due Dates: Taxes are due February 1st, May 1st, August 1st and November 1st There is a ten (10) day grace period. (N.J.S.A. 54:4-66)
Postmarks: Please be advised that the State of New Jersey DOES NOT ALLOW the Tax Collector to acknowledge postmarks.
Interest: Although we understand that things happen, which may delay your payment, and perhaps you have never been late before, we are unable to waive interest. Once a tax payment is considered delinquent, interest must be charged.
Per state statute the collector is required to collect interest on delinquent taxes. No one has the authority to waive delinquent interest.
Interest will be charged at the rate of 8% on the first $1,500.00 of delinquency and 18% on any amount of delinquency over $1,500.00. (N.J.S.A. 54:4-67) As well as a 6% year-end penalty on any balance owing as of December 31, in excess of $10,000.00.
Payment Options: The Tax Collector's Office currently offers a variety of
ways to pay your taxes including the following:
1. In person, using one of three options:
Walk-ins are always welcome in our Central Collection Area on the
Ground Floor of the City Hall Building, 8:30 a.m. through 5:00 p.m.
Two drive-thru payment windows the entrance is located off the
Seventh Street side of City Hall, which is open during normal business
4. A 24-hour drop box is located between the Drive – Thru
Windows, the entrance is located off the Seventh Street side of City
Hall. (Please be advised that any payments received during normal
business hours will be considered as received that business day. Any
payments received after hours will be credited to the next business day,
and interest may apply.)
5. By mail, by sending your payment to:
City of Vineland Tax Collector
640 E. Wood Street
P.O. Box 1508
Vineland, NJ 08362-1508
6. Online Payment - Click here to go to site
7. Direct debit from your checking account, click here for participation condition, just fill out and submit the Direct debit (Preauthorized Payment Plan) form.
8. Personal Online Bill Payments: Please allow 14 days for the payment to reach our office for processing.
Paying taxes by auto debit is a convenient, secure, and free
service to taxpayers. It features a registration process where a signed
authorization allows the tax collector to debit quarterly taxes directly from
the taxpayer's checking account every tax quarter (February 1, May 1, August 1,
and November 1). Should the first day of a quarter fall on a holiday or
weekend, the transfer will occur on the first business day the office is open
for the quarterly payments.
After the initial registration process, you will receive an
email reminder one week prior to the auto debit. All you will need to do is
make sure the funds are available in your account and make proper entries in
your checking account register.
All payments must be made by cash, money order, or checks.
Registering for Auto Debit
To register for auto debit, you will need to fill out the Direct debit (Preauthorized Payment Plan) form. This will be a one-time event unless you need to make
changes or stop the service. This form is available on this website or by
contacting the Tax Collector's Office. Once completed, please return this form
with a voided check to the Tax Collector's Office by mail or in person. Please
allow for sufficient time to start, change, or stop service prior to the tax
When registering for auto debit for the first time, or for
any subsequent changes or cancellations, we will provide you with a
confirmation in writing that we have received and processed your request, as
well as indicate which tax quarter the request will take effect.
If you do not receive this notice within 15 days of
submitting your request, you must contact our office to verify your information
was received and your confirmation is on its way. The City of Vineland is not
responsible for mail lost in transit to or from the city, or for mailing
Pay Taxes Oline
Please read the following information carefully as it will explain the fees associated with paying your taxes online, as well as useful informtion pertaining to your account
Please be advised that credit card and e-check payments can only be made online, and there are convenience fees charged for each transaction. The fee for using a debit card(9ther than a Visa debit card) is the same fee as using a credit card. Vias and MasterCard can be used to pay your tax account. The fees for each form of payment are as follows:
e-Check - $1.05 per transaction
Visa debit card - $3.95 per transaction
Credit Cards and non-Visa debit cards - 2.95% of the transaction amount
These convenience fees are retained by the service provider, and are not paid to, or shared with, the City of Vineland.
Should the funds not be available at the time your payment
is processed, a $25 NSF fee will be added to your tax account, and a request
for payment of certified funds will be mailed to you, as we will not issue a
second attempt to secure the funds.
The City of Vineland is not responsible for any overdraft
fees or other charges imposed by the banking institution as a result of this
service. The taxpayer will be responsible for all fees in connection with the
transaction or cancellation thereof in connection with this agreement.
Forms must be received at least 15 days prior to the
quarterly due date to be included in auto debit. If submitting the form, and
your payment is due in under 15 days, please provide payment with your form,
and auto debit will commence on the next scheduled quarter
What do I do if I sent a check for my taxes but received a
Should you receive a delinquent notice and you previously
paid by check, please call your bank to make sure the check has been cashed. If
it has, and the bank can issue a copy of the front and back of the check, the
information on the front and back of the check will be used to determine where
the payment was applied.
If you call the bank and the check was not cashed, we may
not have received your payment, or the payment was recently applied. Please
contact our office by calling 856-794-4050, to see if we received your check.
Please have your property information handy.
Receipts: To receive a receipt for payment, please include the entire bill along with a self-addressed stamped envelope. No receipt will be sent unless a self-addressed stamped envelope is included.
Mortgages: If you have a mortgage company escrowing for taxes and they do not receive a copy of the tax bill from the Tax Office it is your responsibility to see that they get a copy.
Change of Mailing Address: Please submit all changes of mailing address to the Tax Assessor on a separate piece of paper. Do not make changes to your bill.
Tax Deductions: Applications for tax deduction may be obtained form the office of the Tax Assessor or Tax Collector. Senior Citizen, Disabled & Surviving spouse $250.00, must file income statement.
Veterans Deduction $250.00. Must make application and file DD-214 with Tax Assessor Office.
Appeals: Appeals for regular billing must be filed by April 1 of the current year and appeals for Added and Omitted Assessment must be filed by December 1 of the current years. Forms may be obtained by notifying the County Tax Administrator at
(856) 455-7425, or mail at: Cumberland County Board of Taxation, 220 N. Laurel St., Bridgeton, NJ 08302 N.J.S.A.
Duplicate bill fee: The duplicate bill fee is $5.00.
Property Tax Account Look-up Disclaimer: Tax account look-up is for information purposes only and does not constitute a municipal tax search. Account information is subject to updates, corrections, and reversals, which may change the information displayed. The City of Vineland is not responsible for the erroneous interpretation of the records for changes that have been made after the look-up.
Assessment Values: The assessment values that appear on tax account look-up are from the last update to the Municipal Assessors records. Should you have a question regarding the assessment of your property, please contact the Tax Assessor's Office at 856-794-4000, ext. 4033.
Note to New Owners
Tax bills are to be given to new owners upon the sale of the property. Failure to receive a tax bill does not relieve the owner from paying property taxes an interest will be applied to all late payments. Please contact the Tax Office if you need a copy of your tax bill.
Municipal & Third Party Liens
Municipal & third party tax liens cannot be paid online. All redemption figures must be made through the tax office with certified funds, such as certified check, money order, or cash. Redemption figures should be requested in advanced to ensure proper funds when coming in to redeem the lien. Please note that in order to redeem the lien, you must be the owner of records, or have legal interest in the property, and will be asked to provide proof of the same.
Properties in Bankruptcy
Properties in bankruptcy cannot be paid online.
Your total Real Estate Tax includes your school tax, county tax, open space tax, garbage tax and you local purpose tax. These tax rate are added together for a total tax rate each year. The tax rate is based on $100.00 of assessment.
Example: The total tax rate is multiplied by your total assessment $2.670 tax rate X $100,000.00 assessed value divided by 100 = $2,670.00 real estate taxes. This will give you the total Real Estate Taxes that you will be responsible for paying.
Explanation of Taxes:
(Based on Assessment of $100,000.00)
Rate per $100 of Assessed Value
Amount of Tax
|County Open Space
|District School Tax
|Local Municipal Tax
|Municipal Library Tax
2017 Total Tax
Any question concerning:
- School Tax Call (856) 794-6700
- County & Open Space Tax (856) 453-2125
- Local Tax Call (856) 794-4050
What is a Tax Sale?
Tax sale is the enforcement of collections against a property, by placing a lien against the property for all outstanding municipal charges due at the end of the calendar year (December 31).
Municipal Charges include, but are not limited to:
b) Water, Electric, Garbage Utility Charges
c) Sewer Charges
d) Special Assessment Charges
e) Added/Omitted Assessments
Tax Sale Process
What Happens at the Tax Sale?
After the Tax Sale
Redeeming Tax Sale Certificate
Tax Sale Process
Prior to the day of sale; the tax collector has responsibilities set by the State of New Jersey Statute N.J.S.A 54:5
1) All homeowners are notified of pending sale (Tax Sale Notice), and the amount due to stay out of tax sale. Due to changes in the NJ State Tax Sale Law, the tax collector must create the tax sale list 50 days prior to the sale. All charges on that list, together with cost of sale, must be paid in order to be removed from sale.
2) Copies of the tax sale notice must be advertised one time in each of the 4 weeks preceding the tax sale. This ad does not have to run on the same day every week, just one time in four consecutive weeks.
***Collector can make the decision to mail notices in lieu of advertising for 2 weeks out of the 4.
3) A copy of the published tax sale notice is to be mailed to the homeowner ***Failure to mail the notice, or failure for the homeowner to receive notification, does not invalidate any tax sale proceeding.
4) Copies of the notice will be posted in 5 public places within the municipality.
5) The 5th week the Tax Collector may hold the Tax SaleWhat Happens at the Tax Sale?
The day of sale, anyone who is not the owner of the property in the tax sale, shall be allowed to bid for a lien against the property.Auction
When the tax sale is held (as specified in the notice of sale), the Collector sells each unpaid delinquent municipal charge against the land which has been properly advertised (if the delinquency still exists) at the public auction. The sale is in the amount advertised or less, if a partial payment has been made prior to the sale; but the charges cannot be sold for more than the amount advertised.Bidding
Prior to the day of sale, the Collector will require every bidder to fill out a bidder information sheet. This will contain information regarding their address, how he/she
wishes to receive their tax sale certificate, their Federal Tax ID number, and the
signature of the person bidding.
Bidding at the sale begins when a potential purchaser (bidder) offers an initial bid (rate of return (interest rate), usually the maximum bid of 18%. If there is competitive bidding, the rate of the bid goes downward until it reaches 0%. After 0% a bidder may then offer a dollar value; which is known as a premium for the privilege of purchasing the certificate, and can go as high as any one bidder is willing to pay. Therefore the lien is sold to the lowest percentage of redemption interest bid, or to the highest premium bid.
**If there are no bidders on a parcel for sale, the collector must strike it off in the name of the municipality at a redemption interest rate of 18%.Payment at Sale
Payment is due at the time of sale. If payment is not made before the conclusion of the sale, then the collector must open the property back up to bidding. After every lien has been sold and all payments have been collected, the tax sale is adjourned.After the Tax Sale Tax Sale Certificates:
After the sale the tax collector will issue tax sale certificates to the proper bidders within 10 days of the close of sale. It is the responsibility of the bidder to record their lien with the county after they receive the certificate.Subsequent Payments:
After the tax sale certificate has been issued the lien holder has the right to pay any delinquent municipal charges that have not gone to sale. These are known as subsequent payments.
The lien holder has the right to pay any charges due to the municipality only when those charges become delinquent. The payments are then added to the tax sale certificate.Redeeming Tax Sale Certificates Redemption:
Once a lien has been placed on a parcel, the only persons able to redeem that lien are the owner, his/her heirs, the holder of a prior outstanding tax lien certificate, mortgage company, or legal occupant of property sold at a tax sale. These parties may only redeem prior to the expiration of the court order setting the date and time of redemption.
Payment to redeem a lien must be made in full by cash, cashier’s check, or money order to the tax collector's office. Once the redemption has occurred; the tax collector will notify the lien holder of payment. They will return the original certificate to the collector endorsed for cancellation. Upon receipt of the cancelled certificate, the redemption funds will be released to the lien holder.
When the collector receives this cancelled certificate they will send it to the party that redeemed the lien. It is their responsibility to have this lien removed from the property at the county office.Non redemption of Liens:
If a lien has been sold to an outside bidder and has not redeemed within two (2) years from the date of sale, that bidder has the right to begin foreclosure proceedings.
If a lien that has been struck off to the municipality and has not been paid, the municipality has the right to an In Rem Foreclosure Six (6) months after the date of sale. Upon request for redemption of lien, all outstanding municipal charges must be brought current.
Municipal & Third Party Property Tax Liens:
Municipal and third party tax liens cannot be paid online. All redemption figures must be made through the tax office with certified funds, such as certified check, money order, or cash. Redemption figures should be requested in advance to ensure proper funds when coming in to redeem the lien. Please note that in order to redeem the lien, you must be the owner of record, or have legal interest in the property, and will be asked to provide proof of the same.
Other Helpful Tax Information: